Steve Coogan

Quotes from Steve Coogan . . . . Actors say they do their own stunts for the integrity of the film but I did them because they looked like a lot of fun.  I don’t have a Twitter thing. I don’t do Facebook. I don’t do any of that. I’m holding out.

I always find it easier to portray myself as being unlikeable and idiotic; to actually play a character that is likeable and engages the audience is far more difficult. It’s a more subtle kind of challenge.

As soon as I see period costume, I turn off. It’s like hearing drama on Radio 4.  I don’t want to be someone who’s trying to spin this public image of me. I have had some negative tabloid press, I’m sure you’re aware [I am], but I don’t like to portray myself as somehow a nice, well-rounded person.

In comic acting, to improvise effectively is quite difficult. A lot of actors can improvise up to a certain level – an entry level, which is when you see the actors having more fun than the audience.

The big comic performance is a very obvious thing to do. The bolder, more inventive thing sometimes is the subtler, understated performance with minute shades and variations. If you start to disrespect the character you’re playing, or play it too much for laughs, that can work for a sketch, it will sell some gags, but it’s all technique. It’s like watching a juggler – you can be impressed by it, but it’s not going to touch you in any way.

Steve Coogan was born on October 14, 1965 in Middleton, Manchester, England as Stephen John Coogan. He is an actor and producer, known for Philomena (2013), Despicable Me 2 (2013) and Tropic Thunder (2008).

This entry was posted in history of film, producer, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

